Lies We Sing to the Sea: AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! New for 2023, a sapphic YA fantasy romance inspired by Greek mythology, for all fans of The Song of Achilles

£7.495
FREE Shipping

Lies We Sing to the Sea: AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! New for 2023, a sapphic YA fantasy romance inspired by Greek mythology, for all fans of The Song of Achilles

Lies We Sing to the Sea: AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! New for 2023, a sapphic YA fantasy romance inspired by Greek mythology, for all fans of The Song of Achilles

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

LIES WE SING TO THE SEA is a fun (tragic) Greek mythology inspired tale of a desperate attempt to end an ancient curse by people who aren’t quite sure if they can bear the cost. She graduated from Imperial College London in 2021 with a master’s degree in Computational Bioengineering.

Sarah Underwood weaves an epic tapestry of lies, love, and tragedy, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller, Alexandra Bracken, and Renée Ahdieh. If we're being honest, the only reason I reached the last page is because the rest of the club dropped the book and I was the last rat left standing. anyway, that should solidly debunk the “last 3 or 4 years” claim—there’s plenty in classical Greek authors too—read Sandra Boehringer for fuck’s sake. We had a historical inaccuracy counter going on, and it included insanely obvious things like coffee, ouzo, and photo realistic portraits. Explain to me then why Leto spends the book cheating on Melantho with Mathias, and the emotional peak of the story is Leto having sex with Mathias.

But one girl wasn't willing to go without a fight, and the curse she enacts on Ithaca will cause thousands more deaths, for generations to come. The advantage of Greek mythology is that, within a certain range, you can’t really be unfaithful to it, because it’s about oral storytelling and making it better in your eyes”: I am going to YELL. I thought to myself many times that if you changed this names of people, places, things to typical fantasy genre names no one would notice. I have various translations; there are parts that are very beautiful and readable, but it’s so long, and written in a ‘prose-y’ way that’s kind of impenetrable.

Listen, I’m not a scholar on Ancient Greece, but I’ve read my fair share of real-life and semi-mythical accounts (Herodotus, Homer, etc), and I had to stop so many times while reading this book to Google “did the ancient Greeks do XYZ” or “history of XYZ in ancient Greece”, and I got more and more bitter as each answer came back as, no, no they did not do this or have that. ALSO ALSO, it’s one thing to say that Odysseus probably wasn’t 100% faithful to Penelope (fair enough), but saying he was “sleeping his way around Greece” is. If you like Greek reimaginings, complicated love-triangles, and stories following multiple, conflicting protagonists, you will really enjoy this novel.And then there’s the hidden island with a barrier that makes it invisible to the outside world, where not even storms can get through the protective barrier - uh, Wonder Woman, anyone? I absolutely loved Melantho’s story and how she fell in love with Leto, who was one of the twelve maidens sacrificed to Poseidon by Prince Mathias of Ithaca.

you can tell this woman has not actually read any other “retellings” of the Odyssey (despite her claim that none exist. You can’t just take people who are actually mentioned in the Odyssey and then proceed to completely disregard that source material for “vibes” or whatever. There is also romance, and there is love and desire, and there is a beautifully tragic man and two wrathful women!As for the setting and the retelling, there are names from the Odyssey, stories and myths from it, but the story could be set anywhere. The pacing, as I said earlier, is a bit off and it sped up in the last 20ish %, with "new" revelations (I saw them coming from ages, but never mind), memories and sex fading to black. lies we sing to the sea is gorgeously written, richly imagined and threaded with intense emotion in its depictions of vengeful gods, angry girls and immense, unyielding sorrow. The characters at times have some depth but do really seem largely superficial most of the time - and I found it difficult to really care about them or identify with them.

They’re not necessarily the best books I’ve ever read, but I read them when they were pivotal to me. I guess I never looked or inquired, but it’s pretty easy to tell early on that it’s a YA book (and I think I had assumed it was adult) so some things happened a bit too easily as befitting most YA books, etc.And she has the audacity to insert the existence of women (lesbian/bi/ and straight) in a space that was never designed for them, give them agency, and tell a story where she, and others like her in this century, can see themselves. For all ebook purchases, you will be prompted to create an account or login with your existing HarperCollins username and password.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop